Streaming Media

Document Type


Publication Date


Publication Title



The year 2022 provides an opportunity for the world to celebrate the one hundredth anniversary of the birth of composer and pianist George Walker. We are fortunate that Dr. Walker left a substantial body of orchestral music. This article provides a comprehensive list of pieces for orchestra, hopeful that this may make it possible for Walker’s works to be performed by CODA member ensembles in celebration of his achievements and of his milestone birthday.


George Walker



Creative Commons License

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.


Licensed to Smith College and distributed CC-BY under the Smith College Faculty Open Access Policy.


Paper is a peer reviewed accepted manuscript.

Video concert from Smith College: The Smith College Department of Music presents the Orchestra Fall Concert. Music by Schubert, Palestrina, Ruth Gipps, George Walker, John Williams, and featuring Taegan Mullane ‘22, 2019 concerto competition winner, performing the first movement of Samuel Barber’s Violin Concerto.

To see other concerts visit the Smith College Music Department YouTube channel

Included in

Music Commons



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.